Posts

Showing posts with the label WrestleMania

SmackDown Holds the Pace but Knows the Music...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   I can understand if it’s a bittersweet Friday as many of us mourn the loss of Chuck Norris. I have to say that I didn’t care much for him in my youth. He seemed a corny alternative if you were a true Martial Arts/Action movie fan. I was more interested in Jet Li back then and to a lesser degree Jackie Chan but over the years, especially when the Chuck Norris jokes started, my stance on him softened. And so, I will start with a soft tribute to him by sharing the 5 jokes I found the funniest. Then we’ll get into the usual business. Top 5 Chuck Norris Jokes   Chuck Norris is so tough, when exposed to the Coronavirus, the virus was in quarantine for a month. Chuck Norris is so tough he can start a fire with an ice cube. When Chuck Norris does division, there are no remainders. Chuck Norris once kicked a horse in the chin. Its descendants are now known as giraffes. The only time Chuck Norris was ever wrong, was when he thought he had made a mi...

RAW Picks Up the Pace, Just a Little...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   Welcome to another Monday. Hope you had a good weekend. I found mine recuperative. We’ll see what this week holds. There’s a little bit to talk about in the Wrestling World so, let’s have a little chat. Here we go!   In the Realm of AEW, the Revolution PPV was had and there were some surprises. The most notable of which being Ronda Rousey proving to be an ally to Marina Shafir. For me, this is an indication of the Future. How exactly it goes I can’t yet figure but I can see Shafir skipping out on the Riders of Death in time to side with her “more popular friend” yet that all depends on how often Rousey is going to be around.   Given Rousey’s reputation, I don’t see her wanting to play “second fiddle”. She could easily make Shafir choose since Rousey is offering up her “valuable time”. Could this be the first crack in the Riders’ resolve? We’ll see. It is still quite early yet, but I like the possibilities. More than I would have ...

SmackDown Knows What Time It Is...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   Enjoying your Friday? I will in a couple of hours. In the meantime, can’t say it’s all that bad. I’ve been taken over by a bout of lazy so only the force of habit has me typing now. I’d rather be lounging πŸ˜‰ In any case, it’s fairly quiet in the Wrestling World so, this post shouldn’t go for too long but there are few things I can touch on. Shall we? Let’s.   We’ll take a brief stop in the Realm of AEW as the build for this weekend’s Revolution has reached a crescendo. Looks like they’re already on a Konosuke Takeshita Face Turn as he refused to resort to underhanded tactics to soften up Jon Moxley for their match on Sunday. Takeshita has been respectably sporting a black eye and so you can assume he’s not 100%.   It’s not beneath the Don Callis Family to even the playing field but Takeshita has been adamant about doing things fairly. Will it cost him in the end? We shall see. This doesn’t have to have anything to do with the Fu...

WrestleMania 41 - SmackDown Fallout

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts? Happy Friday! Well, there isn’t a great deal going on in the Wrestling World this week, but there’s enough to chat about. You up for it? Let’s get to it. We’ll take a brief stop in the Realm of AEW as the rapper, Master P, stopped by to issue Jon Moxley some “love taps” while Samoa Joe proceeded to proclaim his new focus on claiming the Title. Swerve Strickland was close by as well. Is this the end of the Death Riders? To be honest, it looks like it’s just “the beginning”. There must be ups and downs to make this all compelling. This is all to rev up what’s next or at least, it should be. So far, a 6.5 isn’t looking too bad on Mox and that’s good. He’s going to have to hover here for a while but I doubt it will be boring. Let it all cook, as the kids say πŸ˜‰ In the Land of Free Agency, more or less, Bishop Dyer fka Baron Corbin has some choice words for WWE Brass for switching out Bayley for WrestleMania. I could sympathize because Bayley is solid and deserv...

WrestleMania 41 - RAW Fallout

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   WrestleMania is over and we now come to terms with the new “reality”. Iyo Sky succeeded. Cody Rhodes failed and it looks like Rusev has returned along with Becky Lynch. It’s a lot to consider. Let’s take a moment to break it down and digest.   Though, most fans enjoyed Day 2 on the whole many didn’t care for the finish of Travis Scott coming in and clearing the way for Cena to win. It wasn’t quite as cut and dry as it sounds but the end result was what it was.   Personally, I didn’t really mind it. Cena was all business out there and looked poised to end things on his terms. Rhodes hung in there but we kinda knew the odds would be stacked against him, we just didn’t know in what way. Scott coming in to fudge the outcome did make things a bit anticlimactic but that was the problem with the whole set up from the get-go.   This is why I would have preferred Cena to be more blatantly Heel as opposed to “Anti-Face”. This ques...

SmackDown Meets RAW at the Finish Line to WrestleMania...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts! It is another WrestleMania Eve and we are all gathered to see how tonight’s SmackDown kicks everything off. It will be a full weekend of wrestling and I just gathered the final provisions for holing myself up for it all. I’m going to be well-fed and comfortable. How about you πŸ˜‰ As for the Wrestling World, I think you’d say we have at least a couple things to talk about. Let’s break them down a bit, shall we?  First, we’ll check in with the Realm of AEW as the Championship has finally been taken from Jon Moxley. Samoa Joe was able to put him down and change the script for the time being. Personally, I thought it all kinda happened “easily” so, I’m not sure if that was just to sell the story or if it’s “ulterior motive” on Mox’s part but this is the ebb and flow that has to happen. Too much of the same gets boring and Mox should understand the theory of when to let “good prevail” in these sorts of scenarios. That’s how we all got here in the first place...

RAW Says It's Time to Sprint to WrestleMania....

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   Happy WrestleMania Go-Home Week! Since that’s where we’re at, there isn’t much going on in the Wrestling World other than people trying to get some attention riding the WrestleMania coattails so, let’s get into the discussion. It should be short.   We pitstop first in the Realm of AEW to see how the Death Riders fare while PAC recovers. Jon Moxley does the honorable thing and steps into the vacant space. He also offered us a rather poignant promo to explain the next steps and I have to say, I wasn’t expecting it. With moments like these, the future may become so bright I’ll need to wear sunglasses. I wasn’t even aiming for the sun.   That said, I’ll leave them with 1 last piece of advice and then I’ll just get cryptic to allow the future to properly germinate. When all the “real stuff” goes down and Mox is finally left with a “choice”, just remember that this is not a “breakdown” it is a “relapse”. Mind the nuance and surprise th...

SmackDown Steps It Up to a Jog to WrestleMania....

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts? Happy Friday! We made it, yet again. As for the Wrestling World, there isn’t much to report but we have a few things we can chat about. Are you up for it? Let’s go. We’ll stop in the Realm of AEW for a brief minute as Jon Moxley was at it again. Not alone so much this time but he definitely ramped up the stakes for his match against Swerve Strickland for the Dynasty PPV set for Sunday. He teamed with Marina Shafir for a Mixed Tag match against Strickland and the adorable Willow Nightingale. This is why Mox’s actions are so “shocking”.  Now, things aren’t as “malicious” as they may seem if you’ve seen clips out of context. Towards the end of the match, Strickland accidentally took out Shafir so Nightingale cleared the ring by knocking Mox off the apron. As she was innocently celebrating the win with Strickland, Mox slipped her into a faceplant onto the mat, to everyone’s horror! How could he! She's so cute!  Well, it’s easy to see Mox felt “justifie...

RAW Teases a Jog to WrestleMania...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   A Merry Monday to you! There isn’t that much going on in the Wrestling World at the moment so, rest assured this post will be considerably shorter than the last one πŸ˜‰ I can ramble on about a couple things but I shouldn’t take up too much of your time. Ready? Here we go.   Usually we pitstop over in the Realm of AEW to see how they’re doing but things appear to be going nicely and there’s quite a bit of time before the “real stuff” gets going so let them simmer this stew.   What has my attention today was the report that WWE is having trouble filling the 3 hours for SmackDown. Now this is a prime example of their Creative Department lacking creativity. This is not how it should be. I’ve said before that there should be an abundance of ideas not a deficit. If this was a regular old fictional television show, they’d have the next season already written maybe even the one after that depending. The only ones I know of that fly by t...

RAW Maintains a Steady Pace En Route to WrestleMania....

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts? How’s Monday treating you? I’ve been kept busy. As for the Wrestling World, I’d say it’s a slow news day so this post will be brief. So, without further ado, let me get into it. The biggest thing of note today is that Endeavor, the parent company of TKO, owner of WWE, has privatized today. It is no longer a publicly traded company. Now, I’ll be honest and admit the full implications are lost on me but given the state of affairs in the United States right now, I don’t blame the head honchos for wanting to secure some control.  At a glance, I would say this could set the stage for more in-house politicking and ingratiating since the public will have less of a say in how things go. Shareholders will have to see what those in charge do and see if it’s worth sticking with. It’s hard to move under privatization so the long term effects have yet to be determined. Guess we’ll see if this change affects presentation but for now, WWE has to be more concerned more...

SmackDown Does as It Does and Picks Up the Pace En Route to WrestleMania...

Image
How’s It Going, Enthusiasts?   Happy Friday! So, I think you all know what we’re gonna talk about today. At least it will keep the post brief. I got stuff to do this weekend πŸ˜‰ Let’s get into it, shall we? Here we go.   Focus was on the Realm of AEW this Wednesday as Jon Moxley reverted back to his masochistic ways by taking a set of nails to the back. In most cases, I would admonish this unnecessary show of violence but this time around, I found it well-placed. This is more “fodder” for his enemies than anything else. This time, this is “evidence” which is exactly what it ought to be.   My only real issue concerns sanitation. Are those nails sterilized before being used? It would be quite the shame if all this potential gets flushed down the drain due to a case of sepsis or a nasty case of lockjaw. I’ll be fine with it if it suits the Future and is done with some consideration. No one told him to kill himself. Not sure what that would prove or serve. ...